Three Residents Awarded American Psychiatric Association Fellowships

By Susan Gallagher

Each spring, the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and American Psychiatric Association Foundation (APAF) award fellowships to a select group of psychiatry residents. We’re excited to share that this year, three Duke Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences residents were awarded APA/APAF fellowships.

Through these fellowships, residents are given opportunities for experiential learning, training, and professional development that will help them become leaders in the field of psychiatry. In addition, APA/APAF Fellows get exclusive opportunities to be a part of APA leadership councils and network with APA members from around the country. 

Read on to learn about the fellowships awarded to Gregg Robbins-Welty, MD, MS, Andrew Tuck, MD, and Rick Wolthusen, MD, MPP.

Leadership Fellowship

Gregg Robbins-Welty, MD, MS
PGY3 Medicine-Psychiatry Resident

The Leadership Fellowship develops leaders in the field of organized psychiatry by providing opportunities for residents to engage, interact and participate at a national level and further develop their professional leadership skills, networks and psychiatric experience.

Edwin V. Valdiserri Correctional Public Psychiatry Fellowship

Andrew Tuck, MD
PGY3 Psychiatry Resident

The Edwin V. Valdiserri Correctional Public Psychiatry Fellowshiop provides an opportunity for current residents affiliated with forensic psychiatry programs to receive additional experience, training and mentorship in a correctional setting.

Public Psychiatry Fellowship

Rick Wolthusen, MD, MPP
PGY2 Psychiatry Resident

The Public Psychiatry Fellowship creates opportunities for residents to engage in several mentorship sessions, conduct public psychiatry program site visits, and interact with thought leaders in the field of public psychiatry.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Robbins-Welty, Dr. Tuck and Dr. Wolthusen!

Learn more about the APA/APAF Fellowships.