Seven Faculty Selected for School of Medicine Leadership and Development Programs

School of Medicine Leadership Program AwardeesWe're thrilled to announce that seven faculty members from our department were selected to participate in three highly competitive School of Medicine leadership and development programs:


ADVANCE-UP (Academic DeVelopment, Advocacy, Networking, Coaching and Education for Underrepresented Populations) is a year-long program that provides in-depth opportunities for academic development, mentoring, and networking for faculty from underrepresented racial and ethnic backgrounds.

Psychiatry awardees:

  • Heather Vestal, MD, MHS
  • Gabriela Nagy, PhD
  • Katherine Ramos, PhD 


ALICE (Academic Leadership, Innovation, and Collaborative Engagement) is a yearlong leadership development program for mid-career women faculty in leadership roles. The program provides instruction in key leadership competencies and a unique peer-mentoring experience with women from across the School of Medicine.

Psychiatry awardee: Nancy Zucker, PhD


Leadership Development for Researchers (LEADER) is a 3-part workshop designed for junior faculty who are leading a research group and driving their own research agenda.

Psychiatry awardees:

  • Caroline Dorfman, PhD
  • Lauren Pacek, PhD
  • McLean Pollock, PhD