Duke Psychiatry Trainees Receive Numerous Awards & Honors in 2022-2023

By Susan Gallagher

Congratulations to our trainees on the following awards and honors they earned during the 2022-2023 academic year:

NOTE: Training years reflect when the trainee received the award; trainees have since advanced a year or graduated.

  • First-year psychiatry resident Andres Fuenmayor, MD
  • Second-year child and adolescent psychiatry fellow Jennifer Hu, MD, was awarded the Association of Family Psychiatrists Award for Excellence in Family Oriented Care.
  • Second-year psychiatry resident Alexander Moghadam, MD, PhD, was awarded an Honorable Mention for the extremely competitive 2023 NIMH Outstanding Resident Award Program.
  • Third-year psychiatry resident Shelby Powers, MD, MS, was selected to serve as a GAP Fellow by the Group for the Advancement of Psychiatry (GAP), a think tank of top psychiatric minds whose thoughtful analysis and recommendations serve to influence and advance modern psychiatric theory and practice.
  • Fourth-year med-psych resident Gregg Robbins-Welty, MD, was …
  • Third-year psychiatry resident Yekki Song, MD, PhD, received the prestigious Laughlin Fellowship from the American College of Psychiatrists.
  • Third-year psychiatry resident Rick Wolthusen, MD, MPP
  • Two med-psych residents received the 2023 James H. Carter, Sr. Community Service Award, established in honor of Carter’s dedication to serving the underserved: 
    • Ryan Slauer, MD (fourth-year), and
    • Lynette “Bessie” Staplefoote-Boynton, MD, MPH (third-year)
  • Two child and adolescent psychiatry fellows completed the Medical Education Leadership Track (MELT) program for the 2022-2023 academic year: 
    • ​​​​​​​Huseyin Bayazit, MD (first-year)
    • Hudaisa Hafeez, MBBS (second-year)
  • Three trainees were awarded the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP) Educational Outreach Program to support attendance at the 2022 AACAP meeting:
    • Lexi Collier, MD (second-year psychiatry resident) 
    • Aishwarya Rajagopalan, DO (second-year child and adolescent psychiatry fellow)
    • Chris Ramsay, MD (third-year psychiatry resident)
  • Three residents received the Psychiatry residents Pearsall Fellowship from the Psychoanalytic Center of the Carolinas:
    • Oluwakemi “Kemi” Balogun, MD (second-year)
    • Samar Fouda, MBBCh (second-year)
    • Shelby Powers, MD, MS (third-year)
  • Three residents received American Psychiatric Association (APA) and American Psychiatric Association Foundation (APAF) fellowships:
    • Oluwakemi "Kemi" Balogun, MD (second-year psychiatry resident)
    • Hania Ibrahim, MD (second-year psychiatry resident)
    • Lynette “Bessie” Staplefoote-Boynton, MD, MPH (third-year med-psych resident)
  • Three residents placed fourth nationally in MindGames, the American Psychiatric Association’s national residency team competition:
    • Sophie Fourniquet, MD (third-year psychiatry resident)
    • Jeff Lee, MD (third-year med-psych resident)
    • Andy Tuck, MD (fourth-year psychiatry resident)
  • Two med-psych residents won awards at the Association of Medicine and Psychiatry annual meeting:
    • Gregg Robbins-Welty, MD (fourth-year) won the case vignette competition with his presentation, “Occam’s Toothbrush.”
    • Sarah Eckstein, MD (second-year) won the poster competition with her case, “Methylphenidate Is a Potential Augmenting Agent for Catatonia.”
  • Three residents were awarded 2023 graduate medical education graduation awards:
    • Syeda Razia Haider, MD (fourth-year psychiatry resident) – Outstanding Resident Educator Award
    • Cameron Strong, MD (fifth-year med-psych resident) – Outstanding Resident Clinician Award
    • Adam Fijtman, MD, PhD (fourth-year psychiatry resident) – Outstanding Resident Researcher Award