Skip to main content

Three Psychiatry Faculty Members Win School of Medicine Awards

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
By Susan Gallagher
Amaya-Jackson, Dzirasa, Keefe

We’re delighted to announce that three faculty members in the Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences have been selected to receive awards from the Duke University School of Medicine.

Lisa Amaya-Jackson, MD, MPH, professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, will receive the 2020 Excellence in Professionalism Award.

The Excellence in Professionalism Award was established to recognize the importance of promoting ethical and professional behavior within our community. This award is presented annually to a faculty member who exemplifies professionalism and personifies Duke’s guiding principles of respect, trustworthiness, diversity, teamwork and learning.

Kafui Dzirasa, MD, PhD, K. Ranga Rama Krishnan Associate Professor, will receive the 2020 Early Career Mentoring Award in Basic–Translational Science.

Frank Keefe, PhD, professor in psychiatry and behavioral sciences, will receive the 2020 Career Mentoring Award in Clinical–Population Health Science.

The Research Mentoring Awards recognize faculty members in the School of Medicine for excellence in research mentoring.  Excellence can be demonstrated in many ways such as by the accomplishments of individual mentees, by programs implemented by the mentor, or by exceptional creativity in mentoring.

Please join us in congratulating these extraordinary team members.