Duke’s Sarah Lisanby Receives Eva King Killam Research Award from ACNP

Durham, NC – Sarah H. Lisanby, M.D., the J. P. Gibbons Professor and Chair for the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and Professor of Psychology and Neurosciences received the 2014 American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP) Eva King Killam Research Award. 

The award, given to an individual who has outstanding translational research contributions to neuropsychopharmacology, was presented on December 8, 2014 at the 53rd ACNP Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.

“Dr. Lisanby is most suitable for this esteemed award,” says Mustafa Husain, M.D., Vice Chair for Faculty Development in the Duke University Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. “She is a pioneer and world renowned expert in the field of brain modulation therapies for neuropsychiatric disorders. Her research efforts have led to innovative treatments for the severely depressed.”

Lisanby is a three-time graduate of Duke University. She graduated with a dual Bachelor of Science Degrees in Mathematics and Psychology, a Medical Degree from Duke University School of Medicine, and completed her Psychiatry Residency at Duke University in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. She is the founder of the Brain-Behavior Clinic at New York State Psychiatric Institute and founder of the Brain Stimulation Service in the Department of Psychiatry at New York Presbyterian Hospital in New York, New York. She is an author or co-author of four books and more than 150 articles in peer-reviewed journals.  Lisanby is an international authority on brain stimulation and depression.